RSS

Being a picky eater

05 Mar

I know all too well what it is like to be a picky eater. Not only did I grow up being a picky eater, but by some aspects, I still am one today.
When I was little I didn’t like tomatoes, broccoli, asparagus, spinach, meatloaf, vegetable soup, and pretty much anything that most kids usually don’t like. My favorite foods were spaghetti, mashed potatoes, macaroni and cheese, cheeseburgers, ravioli, biscuits, and well pretty much anything that is a major carb. As I grew up my tastes expanded to like all the previously mentioned foods I didn’t like as a child. But now I have foods that don’t “like me.” Certain foods give me side effects that I would just rather stay away from. So to this day, I guess you could say I am a picky eater because there are some foods I just will not eat even if a stranger served them to me (sorry all you adults who taught me to do otherwise!). The side effects are not worth it.

My little boy would probably be called a picky eater. And it amazes to me to watch people say to him the exact same things that were said to me as a child. “He doesn’t know what he is missing!” “But that is good food!” “Wow! He doesn’t like that? How does he NOT like it!?” and so on. He is too little to grasp these sayings, but I remember as I got older I used to grimace each and every time I heard, “You just don’t know what you are missing!” Yes, yes, I did. I tried it every time my mom made it per our dinner time rules. I definitely knew what I was missing.

J doesn’t like mashed potatoes, pizza, sweet potatoes, any kind of white potatoes that aren’t solid (he will only eat the french fry kind), applesauce, yogurt, or pretty much anything that’s a semi-solid that you must eat with a spoon, to include ice cream, because ice cream is just too cold and mushy and wet. And oh, we hear it all. “HOW can he NOT like it!?” But here is a very very small sample of what he does like: meatloaf, carrots, corn, green beans, asparagus, broccoli, apples, oranges, grapes, sharp cheddar cheese, strawberries, really any kind of berry, milk, bread, high protein cereals (I Know, right?), and the list goes on and on. So when I hear people say those words to me wondering how he can’t like pizza or ice cream or whatever, I usually just smile and nod and think to myself, “yes, but you have no idea the foods that he does like.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 5, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
