RSS

Working it out

12 Jun

One of my goals of 2013 was to at some point join a gym and some workout classes.  The reason I made this my goal is because this is what works best for me.  It is really hard for me to work out at home or by myself or even at a gym on a treadmill!  I really need a class that I commit myself to.  Everyone has their own way of having a fun workout.  Maybe you play sports on a regular basis, or run on the treadmill while watching your favorite tv show, or walk miles with a friend.  Maybe you actually prefer to work out on your own and listen to music and just let your mind wander.  I pretty much need to be in a group of people who are doing something fun with an instructor telling me what to do.  That is the best environment for me.  Unfortunately I haven’t had the money to join a class or a gym in the past couple of years.  Before J, I was in a yoga class and I loved it!  I still miss it, even though I do yoga on my own.  It’s just not the same, because I am not in a class with an instructor pushing my limits to see what I can really do.  In a few months I will probably join a gym, and take some classes and I am really looking forward to it.

In February I decided I did not want to go to my first class or two as an out of shape mommy.  Not that there is anything wrong with joining a class that way, I just didn’t want to. I wanted to be able to go to Zumba or Aerobic Kickboxing and have fun and love it pretty much right away!  I searched the internet for a good workout video that took less than 30 minutes, because let’s face it, I am a mom with limited free time.  I was skeptical of what I would find, but I found Jillian Michaels’ 30 day shred.  The workouts are just over 20 minutes long and they are pretty intense.  I read a lot of good reviews so I ordered it.  I have been working out for 4 months now and although I haven’t lost any weight (would have been nice, but not really my goal), I have lost inches and replaced fat with muscle!  I do have to confess that I took about 2 weeks off in May because I was sick and it was just crazy busy.  I had to convince myself to restart working out after a two-week break.  Isn’t that crazy?  I get into this great habit of working out 3-4 times a week and then it only takes 2 weeks to make me lazy!  As soon as I got done working out again though, I felt great!  I thought to myself, “Why in the world does it take convincing to make me want to do this?”  I love the energy I get from working out and also makes me want to eat better.  It’s a great cycle!  I have come to the conclusion that it seems like there are two cycles.  One is where you don’t work out, you don’t eat right, and you don’t feel your best, so you keep sitting on your butt and not eating right because well, you don’t feel good. The other cycle is where you get up off your butt, work out, eat right and feel awesome (or at least so much better!) so you have enough energy to keep working out and eating right and feeling great.  Which cycle are you in right now?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 12, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Working it out

  1. Kickboxing Workout

    June 15, 2013 at 4:39 am

    I sometimes teach a class down at the local gym. I found the information here to be consise and easy to read. Thank you for sharing your views on the topic. Thumbs up.

     

Leave a Reply

 
