RSS

2 years old!

04 Apr

J had his 2 year old birthday party a little over a month ago. It was transportation themed: cars, trains, and planes. He still loves cars, trains, and planes. Trains are his absolute favorite. I asked him back at the beginning of January if he wanted a birthday party with a Curious George theme or cars, trains, and planes. He got excited about both, but he was always more excited about the cars, trains, and planes. I am pretty sure he had no clue what I was talking about when it comes to themes, but I thought would ask him anyway to gauge the excitement of either choice. When I would ask him he would usually exclaim, “Choo choo! Choo choo!” so cars, trains, and planes it was!

I bought most of his birthday decorations from www.birthdaydirect.com.  To eat we had: PB&J squares, green grapes, pineapple, and strawberries to form a stoplight (I know it is switched in one picture), teddy grahams, car, train, and plane shaped suckers, car, train, and plane shaped cookies, and a cake!

J had so much fun at his party!  The party started at 10:30 and people left between 11:30-12:00.  The party didn’t last very long, but it was probably perfect for J.  He played hard, ate lots of cookies, and had tons of fun opening his presents!  J is not a big fan of cake, but at the same time I did want him to have the traditional birthday cake.  I wanted to keep the tradition alive in my family where we bake and decorate the birthday cake for the kids, but I decided to give it a little twist this year.  Because J likes cookies more than cake, I cut out and baked car, train, and plane shaped sugar cookies and iced the edges.  Since I put time into the cookies, I decided to order a small cake.  I think it worked out really well!  The cookies were a hit!  In fact, if I decide to do something like this again I think I will either forgo the cake or order/bake an even smaller one.

I am so thankful to my parents who came into town a few days before the party to help prepare.  We had a lot of fun those 4 days they were in town.  They also watched J so Chase and I could have a date night. Yay!

DSC04942-22DSC04943 DSC04944 DSC04945 DSC04952 DSC04954 DSC04977

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 4, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
