RSS

The simple act of rocking

08 Oct

I have a love/dislike relationship with rocking.

I love rocking J before nap and before bed.  He is so sweet when I am rocking him and when he is really tired he will rest his head on me, close his eyes, and completely relax.  I love that.  I love it when his little face is looking toward mine and he is in a completely relaxed state because his momma is holding and rocking him.  I love when I think he might be going to sleep, and then all of a sudden he squints his eyes open just to look at me and gives me a big grin before he closes his eyes again.  I love that rocking and holding my little man can soothe his fears, toothaches, or anything else.  I tell myself how lucky I am that I am the one who rocks him before his naps.  If I was working, someone else would be rocking him or he probably wouldn’t be rocked.  That thought makes me sad sometimes.  1 year olds need some hugging/cuddling/rocking time too.  It is so therapeutic for both parties.

Are you wondering where the dislike of rocking comes in?  I really don’t like rocking at 1:30 in the morning or 2:45 in the morning, or really anytime in the middle of the night when I was just dead asleep.  It is SO hard to stay awake and really rock a baby or toddler when you are nodding off yourself.  I’m thinking to myself, “How many more minutes does he need rocked because I am about to fall over in this chair.”  There you have it.  My nasty rocking confession.  I don’t know how grandmas do it!  They will gladly rock their grandchildren for an hour or even more at absolutely any time of the day!  12:35am sounds like a great time to rock their grandbaby if that’s what their grandbaby wants!  Maybe it’s a grandma thing.

But don’t get me wrong.  I really do absolutely love rocking my sweet little boy.  I thank God for him, and that I have this time to rock him while he is still little.  And I am really trying to remember those feelings at 1:30 in the morning.  Because, sometimes, it’s those 1:30 in the morning rocking chair cuddles that mean the most.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 8, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
