RSS

Letting mommas be mommas

13 Jun

Before I ever became a mom I started taking mental notes from friends and relatives who had babies before me.  I had a mental list of things I knew I should do, shouldn’t do, should try, and things I should never attempt as a mommy.  So, I pretty much thought I somewhat had the big picture figured out.  I came to realize, pretty much right away, as soon as we entered our house with a baby, that I only had the outline of the big picture sort of figured out.  It will take many years and a lot of learning until the picture is finally drawn and colored in.  And I have a pretty good feeling my picture will be something abstract with a lot of colors.

Everyone’s picture is different.  Every child’s picture is different!  I used to have these set of thoughts like “oh routines are good! All children should be on a routine! It works!”  “Oh, no candy before the first birthday sounds like a great and wise idea! This will ensure healthy eating!” lol And on and on.  You can only imagine.  And if you are a mom, I am sure you had similar ideas.  Now that I have been a mom for just over a year I can look back and laugh.  Yes, a routine works well for my kid, but maybe not for yours.  Candy?  My child doesn’t even LIKE it.  He still doesn’t want to eat any, but it had nothing to do with waiting until he was a year old.  I think I gave him a tiny piece of chocolate many, many months ago and was so disappointed he didn’t like my all time favorite food.  Ha!  He is just like his daddy and prefers salty and savory foods.  So go ahead and give your baby some ice cream, really… I won’t judge.  In fact, because each family is so different, and each mom, dad, and CHILD are so different, I realize that each family does what is right for them.  I could go on and on, but instead I would love it if you would head over to Mama Birth’s blog and read what she has to say.  Her post was so good and right on.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
