RSS

Essential things for baby

23 May

I decided to compile a list of things I think are essential or at the very least super-duper handy to have for when baby comes along.  Of course we all know about the real essential baby items like a crib, bottles, clothes, towels, burp cloths, blankets, teething toys, etc.

These are the little things people may not think about.  Most of these were either given to me by another mom or a mom told me I had to get them!  And I am so thankful these moms helped me out! I have a 1 year old and I still use a lot of these.

Dishwasher basket to wash all the small parts of the bottle.  You can pretty much use this for any small parts, and it really comes in handy now that I have a million little parts that go with the sippy cups.

Diaper Bag Dispenser with Arm & Hammer bags!  These little bags are awesome!  At first I wondered why I needed these when I could just take some regular plastic bags with me in the diaper bag, but these are much better!  They smell like lavender and totally keep the smell of those dirty diapers in the bag once you tie it off.  This is essential for long car trips or even just trips out and about when you decide to change your little one in the car.  I also love it for when we are at a friend’s house so I don’t stink up their trash.

The Munchkin Formula 3 compartment dispenser.  I use this for snacks!  I can put 3 different snacks in the little compartments and dispense them easily!  It seems to keep the snacks fairly fresh for about a week too, so I just fill it up and stick it in the diaper bag for on the go snacking!

-Large waterproof pad for the bed.  This is in addition to the mattress liner or whatever you use already.  Put this extra liner on top of the sheet you already have on the crib mattress and put another sheet on top.  This way if your baby throws up or has a blowout in the middle of the night you do not have to change any sheets! You just rip off the top sheet and this waterproof pad for the fresh sheet underneath!  It’s one of the best things I ever did.  I even trippled it up when baby J was sick, and I knew we would go through several sheets.  The last thing I want to do is change crib sheets in the middle of the night.  It’s harder than changing regular bed sheets!!

Burts Bees Baby Bee Nourishing Baby Oil.  I love love love this!  I bought a very small bottle of it when baby J was born.  I would give him a baby massage after every bath with this oil.  It made his skin so soft and calmed him down so much.  His face would get so relaxed.  I love the memories I have of this!

Electric bottle sterilizer.  Some people may decide they do not need one because they have a dishwasher to do the sterilizing.  If you are anything like us and only use the dishwasher every 2-3 days, this will save a lot of water and energy!  I loved mine.  Just make sure you dump any excess water out of it every time you are finished using it so it doesn’t mold!

Boon Grass Countertop Drying Rack.  There are a lot of different ways to dry your bottles and the different parts of your bottles and baby items.  This rack is my favorite!  You can stick anything on it and it will stay and dry.  No falling off the rack or dripping off to the side.

California Baby care items.  I love this brand!  It’s natural and organic and made in the USA.  I love the shampoo and body wash and the lotions.

-Little caddies or baskets.  These come in handy for the little baby items.  I have several little baskets in the top drawer of the changing table filled with finger nail clippers, thermometers, hair brush, etc.

Woombie.  This is probably the easiest way to swaddle your baby!  Of course you still need to go to your birthing class and learn how to swaddle, but the Woombie will be your lifesaver at 2am.  Who wants to remember how to swaddle or do it several times over to get it tight at 2am?  We loved the Woombie and so did baby J.  He slept in a Woombie until he was 9 months old.  I think around 7 months we transitioned him to an open armed Woombie.  They have so many different styles!

-A wrap or a sling.  Baby wearing really is a must!  Your newborn was inside of you for 9 months.  Why in the world would they want you to sit them in a bouncy seat just out of your reach when they are used to the comfort of you? (not saying a bouncy seat is a bad thing…I owned and used one too)  I call the first 3 months of baby, The 4th Trimester.  Your little one is getting used to this scary, big, unfamiliar world, and the only thing familiar is being snuggled up close to someone.  A wrap is perfect for still being able to move around the house, do chores, cook, etc, and keep your little one snug and happy right up against you.  I did a lot of my shopping and chores this way the first 3 months.  I used my wrap up until baby J was about 8 months old.  You can use it a lot longer than that too.  I just had a very wiggly baby who always wanted down, and it’s not any better now that he runs around. lol

I am sure once I post this I will think of many other things to add to this list.  What do you think is essential for new moms and babies?  Please post them in the comments to add to my list!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
