RSS

Loving where I am

21 Mar

We are starting a bible class at church over the book Captivating on Wednesday nights.  I went to the first class last week, and there were a ton of ladies there ranging in age from 13 years and up.  We all went around the room telling a little about ourselves.  There was a list of questions for the teens to answer revolving around what their favorite activities are now and what they want to be or do when they grow up.  The adults answered a different list of questions.  Who did you marry, how many guys did you have to kiss before you married your prince, what did you do in high school and what did you want to be when you grew up, what do you do now, when did you first feel like a grown up, etc.  It was really interesting to hear everyone’s answers to these questions.  Everyone is so incredibly different.  And a lot of the times we don’t grow up to do exactly what we thought we would.  Each year provides so many changes in your life.  Listening to the girls in high school made me think back to when I was in high school.  Was it really 15 years ago when I was 14 years old?

Looking back, I had 2 paths in my mind of what I wanted to be.  If I got married I wanted to be a stay at home mom, but if I didn’t get married I wanted to move to a big city or even a different country and possibly work in print media. Those are two vastly different paths, but I wanted to really keep my options open.  And because I am a planner I had both of those paths planned out pretty well in my mind.  If I got married in or right out of college I wanted to have my first child when I was 24 because that would give me a couple of years to have some fun.  Well, I didn’t have my first child until I was 28, and I am really happy with that.  I have had a lot of fun too!  I did things I never imagined I would do, like move to Germany.  Ironically, my two paths crossed in some ways.  I did get married and I did move to a different country.  I didn’t get to work in print media (which I still think would be fun!), but I got to have a lot of fun in Germany while being married!  And now I am a stay at home mom!  My life didn’t happen at all like I would have thought, but I love the paths it took to where I am now.  I am amazed sometimes.  God is a wonderful craftsman.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
