RSS

Still learning about being a mommy

07 Mar

I am going to write about something controversial. Yes, I am going to write about weaning my child from a bottle to a sippy cup.  “Is it really controversial?” you ask.  Pretty much the entire medical community will agree that children should be weaned from their bottle by 1 year of age.  Why this is the magic year, I have no clue.  Daycares agree, so if your child is in a daycare they can no longer drink from a bottle once they reach 1 year old.  For any other developmental milestone (or even non-developmental) people like to say that every baby is different.  One child may walk at 9 months old while another learns at 16 months.  Some children do not take a pacifier or wean themselves off automatically, (Baby J decided at around 6 months that he did not need or want a pacifier anymore), while some children still want a pacifier when they are 2 years old.  So why is it that 1 year of age is the magic number for not using a bottle anymore?  Why can’t it be 15 months or 18 months?

I bring this up because my baby boy is not ready to give up his bottle yet.  After hearing a nurse and a doctor tell me that baby J needs to be off the bottle within the same week, I felt really pressured.  They acted like it was this huge deal that I wean him right away! asap!  Seriously?  I asked the doctor, “what if my child isn’t ready,” and I was pretty much told to do it anyway.  Right.  That makes sense.  I asked the nurse the same question, and I was told to reason with my 1 year old.  REASON with a 12 month old.  Wow.  You know, like show him his bottle is broken so he knows it won’t work anymore.  I would love to see someone try to do that with my 1 year old or any 1 year old.  He is just learning to say “car” and “book” and that the trashcan is not a toy and to not play with the buttons on the TV.  Yes, he will totally understand the word “broken”. (Can you just hear my sarcasm?) 🙂

I decided to give it a try though.  For 2 days I switched him to a sippy cup for breakfast, lunch, and supper.  I would still give him his bottle for nap time and bedtime for routine purposes.  Baby J will gladly drink juice or water from the sippy cup, but he didn’t want to take milk from it.  Milk comes in a bottle of course! So he refused it and along with that decided he wouldn’t eat solids either.  Because when we throw a fit, we should throw a good fit!  Some people may say to just stick with it because it will get easier.  Well, what didn’t get easier is the middle of the night.  My baby boy went from sleeping through the night to waking up starving several times through the night.  2 nights in a row I felt like I was back in the newborn stage.

Here is the lesson this mommy learned.  Every child is different, even when the doctor says they are all supposed to be the “same.” My child is not ready to be weaned off the bottle.  I will keep trying to give it to him in the sippy cup, but I won’t make a big deal about it.  So maybe when he is 14 or 15 months he will want milk in his sippy cup.  There will come a day when my baby boy will know the word “broken” and I will be able to reason with him.  Time is flying by.  Why should I waste my precious moments with my son making him and me miserable?  Yes, lesson learned.  My baby boy will be and is my baby boy, distinctly different from everyone else.  And we are going back to bottles today, so this mommy can get some sleep!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Still learning about being a mommy

  1. Christy

    March 7, 2012 at 11:58 am

    I take everything that drs/nurses say about parenting with a HUGE grain of salt. If he’s not ready, he’s not ready…he’s not going to high school drinking out of a baby bottle, so who cares…it’s not them that has to hear him cry, having him not eating anything, etc. I say gentle weaning from bottle to cup, try snack time offering the cup or just keeping it filled with water and leaving it on an end table or coffee table (if you have them) and let him drink from it as he wants. He’ll drink from the cup more and more and then you can start introducing milk in his cup slowly…maybe at dinner time after he’s ate at least two good meals during the day. Follow his lead, you’re a great Momma and he’s a blessed little boy to have a Momma who’s not going to give into this ridiculous pressure.

     
    • mytimeathome

      March 7, 2012 at 1:41 pm

      Thanks Christy! He does drink out of the sippy cup if it has juice or water in it, just not milk. He will throw the cup down if he finds out there is milk in it. lol Thanks for the encouragement!

       
  2. Rebekah

    March 7, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    My baby boy Landon is 17 months old and still gets his bottle two times a day. Once in the morning during wake up time, and once at night for night-night time. He is not ready to be off of his bottle. I am not going to push him to be off of his bottle. He does not suck a pacifier, he is up to date or ahead on all other milestones, including talking more than 20 words, pointing out more than 7 body parts, putting together 2 words for (so cute) partial conversation. At his last check-up, they asked me if he was on his bottle, I told them what you just read, the nurse said I should try to start weaning him off, but every child is different. I told her he drinks out of a Sippy cup 24/7, as long as it does not have milk in it. He will not, under and circumstances, drink milk from a Sippy cup. Nope, that is for juice only. He will hand you back the Sippy cup and say “no, juice”. As a working mother of two, I just laugh and get him some juice. I will not spend my precious moments arguing with a non communicating toddler. Why? I am teaching him to talk to me and tell me what he wants so we don’t have the whining game, and if he uses his words, why would I not get what he asks? Isn’t that the point of the exercise?
    So, Miranda, do what you want. My doctors office didn’t see so “alarmed” about Landon being on the bottle, and I will wean it away someday soon, but on my terms, not theirs. One of the best points you made is that every analyst, psychologist and doctor state “don’t push, each baby is different, don’t compare your children to others….” Then havens tabitsy, why is this one thing such a big deal?

     
    • mytimeathome

      March 7, 2012 at 3:47 pm

      Good to know! It is crazy how weaning the bottle at 1 year old is pushed. I have heard other moms talk about it as well. It’s amusing how both of our boys are the same. Milk comes in a bottle, not a sippy cup. Get it right! lol

       
  3. Little Miss E's Mama

    March 9, 2012 at 9:33 am

    My 19-month old won’t drink milk from a sippy cup either … I have tried, several times: all kinds of cups (even my cups that she is facinated by for any other drink), all kinds of times of day. But, no she will only drink watered down juice in a sippy cup during the day and her bottle of milk before going to bed. What I have done, the bottles I use (Born Free) have a nipple that looks less than a bottle, but more than a sippy cup. It even has handles. She is okay with those (but even there she is specific, only wanting one type not another!).
    I think the Drs have that rule because they don’t want kids to drink from bottles too much because of the risk of the teeth misaligning … but then, how 10 minutes for drinking her bottle should mess up her teeth??? No clue how that is supposed to happen! … I rather make sure she has strong bones!
    When the time is right for them, the transition will be much easier or they will loose interest by thenselves … same with so many other transitions: big girl/boy bed, potty training, …

     
    • mytimeathome

      March 9, 2012 at 12:13 pm

      Thanks for your comment! It seems there are a lot of toddlers that really want their milk from a bottle. It’s good to know we are not alone!

       

Leave a Reply

 
