RSS

Christmas

26 Dec

On December 23, 2 days before Christmas, baby J gave us an early Christmas present.  He started walking! It is crazy! It’s hard to believe my baby boy is big enough to walk! He is still gaining his confidence so he sometimes still cruises the furniture, especially when he is tired, but now if he wants something in the middle of the room or across the room he walks over to it instead of crawling.  He is so adorable when he is walking because you can see he is really concentrating the whole time; concentrating on walking and what he is going to.  If he gets distracted at all, he falls down.  He can’t go from sitting to standing by himself yet so he has to crawl to something to pull himself back up.  It just cracks me up that he wants to walk so badly.  Hmm..I wonder if he will be like his mommy and one of his first phrases will be “I do it myself”. lol I surely was not a stubborn child! 🙂

On Christmas Eve we let baby J open one of his gifts.  This is a tradition that my family used to do and although I hadn’t really thought about doing it, my friend Rebekah kind of reminded me of it.  Her family is celebrating Hanukkah and Christmas this year to experience the holiday that Jesus celebrated.  Of course, with Hanukkah you open one present a day for eight days.  She has a 1 year old and was telling me how great it was for him to play with one gift each day.  Well, this made me remember when mom and dad would let us open one gift on Christmas Eve night and we would really enjoy that one gift for a few hours before we went to bed.  So that is what we did with baby J.  I think it worked well!  He played with his new toy for a couple of hours and then it was bed time!  Santa was coming. 😉

Christmas day was good.  I was so excited about it that I think I had too high of expectations.  I didn’t expect baby J to be as excited or to even really love all his presents.  I knew he liked his presents because he helped us pick them out at the store, but I also know that babies would rather play with packaging and boxes.  But I think I just wanted this super happy family time and instead we had a very cranky baby.  He opened his first gift and was excited and wanted to play with his cars right away so we decided to let him play with each toy in between opening his 5 gifts and we would just take our time.  I think 5 gifts within an hour was slightly overwhelming.  He became cranky and instead of being awake 3 hours before nap time he went down for his nap after being awake 2 hours, just long enough to eat breakfast and open presents.  I wanted us all to go to church together but because baby J was napping I went to church and Chase stayed home.  I thought about waking baby J up but it’s probably a good thing I didn’t. He pretty much slept through most of the time I was at church. After I got home from church we made our Christmas meal of ham, mashed potatoes, green beans (with bacon!) and biscuits. It may not have been the Christmas I thought I was expecting, but I will say that instead of having this super happy family time I wanted I got great REAL family time; time with my husband and baby boy that was just the three of us celebrating Christmas and being us.  I really wouldn’t have had it any other way.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 26, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Christmas

  1. Merrsidotes

    January 5, 2012 at 11:00 am

    I can’t believe he’s walking already!! Too fast, too fast! I’m glad you had a good Christmas and I can’t wait to see you guys soon 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
