RSS

It happens in a blink

09 Nov

I was looking at pictures of baby J yesterday.  Actually, I was going through the more than 100 or so pictures of him that I take each month.  I promised myself I would make actual picture albums of any children I had and so the fun started this year!  The good and bad parts of having a digital camera is that you can take a TON of pictures.  So then I have to go through the TON of pictures to decide which ones are worth printing to put in the albums.  I can never narrow it down lower than about 75 pictures a month.  I know, it’s crazy.  But I am okay with that!

As I am going through pictures that I have taken in the past couple of months I realize just how much baby J has changed.  He has changed a LOT!  There are little things he did 3 months ago, 2 months ago, or even 1 month ago, that he doesn’t do anymore because he has grown past that milestone.  Little things like the way he holds things in his hands and big things like the way he used to hold on to his feet.  He loved playing with his feet.  He occasionally still plays with his feet but it’s not very often anymore.  I remember when he used to do it all the time.  That is why I am okay with printing 75-100 pictures on a monthly basis.  I have pictures of him playing with his feet, pictures of the way he holds his toys, pictures of his non-toothy smile, pictures of when he couldn’t quite get the smile thing down so he just opened his mouth really wide but you knew he was smiling, so many pictures.

I also have a lot of videos recorded of baby J on my Flip camcorder.  I love every minute of every video.  Sometimes baby J and I will watch them together and he just laughs at himself!  I need to get a video of him watching himself! 

Sometimes though, something happens and you want to remember it forever but you didn’t capture it on camera.  I have found it a necessity to write these things down.  I really think I will remember but it is so hard to remember details if you can even remember the event!  So in light of that I will share a memory that was made last night with you all.

Baby J was trying so hard to crawl. I couldn’t take my eyes off him because he usually doesn’t care about trying.  I was sitting in the kitchen and he was in the living room.  He decided to do what I will call the “half-crawl.” He would get up on his hands and knees and “scooch” for about 3-5 inches and then sit back down.  He did that almost all the way to me (about 6 or more feet distance) and then he was distracted by the pantry.  He got himself all the way up next to the pantry and sat himself smack in the middle of the front.  He looked to the right and saw a door hinge and touched it, looked to the left and saw a door hinge and touched it.  You could see he was thinking about something.  He looked from the right door hinge to the left door hinge and then he reached out with both arms and hugged the pantry to try to touch both door hinges at the same time.  Success!! He smiled so big. lol  I wish I would have gotten a picture or a video of my goofy boy hugging the pantry so that he could touch both door hinges at the same time.

I realized that even though I tell myself that he still has many years left to be a kid and play toys, it’s not really that long.  His baby years are going to be gone before I know it.  Take as many pictures as you want moms and dads.  Record as many videos as you can.  It all happens in a blink.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
